Scottish Women’s Development Forum wins prestigious public service award for championing gender equality

An association of Police Scotland and Scottish Police Authority staff has won a major national award for their work on gender equality.

The Scottish Women’s Development Forum (SWDF) was honored at the Scottish Public Service Awards on Wednesday, December 8, 2021. The Commendation recognizes the contribution of the SWDF to increasing the representation of women in the police force, as well as its continuing ambition address the retention, progression and overall experience of all officers and staff of Police Scotland and SPA.

The Scottish Public Service Awards celebrate excellence within Scottish public services, including third sector partners.

The Scottish Parliament Awards were co-hosted by the President and Deputy Prime Minister to recognize the rich and unique diversity of public life in Scotland.

The Gender Equality Champion Award is given to an individual, team, group or network who initiates and leads actions to remove barriers and improve the work experience and employee engagement levels.

Clare Hussain, President of the SWDF, accepted the award on behalf of the SWDF and said:

“I am incredibly proud of the SWDF and the pioneering women who created the association in 2003.

“I am grateful to all of our volunteers who since then have dedicated their time and talents to help improve and enrich the experiences of officers and staff over the past 18 years. “

“It has been a tremendous privilege to accept the award on their behalf and on behalf of our committee and our growing membership.

“Receiving this recognition for something we are all passionate about is incredibly special and just makes us more determined in our goal of educating, empowering and empowering all officers and personnel.”

SWDF President Clare Hussain (right) accepting the Scottish Public Service Award for Championing Gender Equality from Community Safety Minister Ash Regan MSP (left) on Wednesday 8 December 2021 in the Scottish Parliament.

Mara R. Wilmoth